

TUESDAY JUNE 7, 2011 Last modified: Thursday, June 2, 2011 4:44 AM EDT

SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS HONORED

TAUNTON - The Taunton Area Branch of the AAUW met on May 21st to honor its local scholarship recipient and award winners at the 11th annual Recognition Tea.

The following young women were recognized as Remarkable High School Juniors: Tatiana Alexandra Gonzalez, Bridgewater-Raynham Regional High School; Courtney Babcock, Bristol County Agricultural High School; Gussara Varela, Bristol-Plymouth Technical High School; Lauren Dykas, Coyle and Cassidy High



School; Brooke Renaud, Dighton-Rehoboth High School; Morgan Labrecque, Taunton High School.

The Anna Shaff Memorial Book Awards for 2011 were presented to six graduating high school seniors: Jamie Laurin, Bridgewater-Raynham Regional High School; Leah Murphy, Bristol County Agricultural High School; Grace Kathleen Gover, Bristol-Plymouth Technical High School; Diana Berthi, Coyle and Cassidy High School; Emily Poole, Dighton-Rehoboth High School; Caitlin Sau, Taunton High School. The award winners received copies of Women Who Changed the World: Fifty Inspirational Women Who Shaped History.

Courtney Kireilis, a student at Ithaca College, was the recipient of the Mary Anderson Memorial College Scholarship Award.

Carole Copeland Thomas presented an address to the gathered awards recipients, their families, and members of the local AAUW. Carole is a frequent keynote speaker, empowerment expert, diversity professional, syndicated radio host and leadership consultant in C Thomas and Associates, a business she started in 1987. Ms. Thomas served as an adjunct faculty member for Bentley University for a decade, and has spoken throughout the United States, London, Canada and Australia.